Review: The Other Grey Meat

A Zombie Epic, now with synthetic brains!

This is a new year and this year I wanted to start things off right with a new comic I find amazing. The Other Grey Meat, (TOGM from here on in), is a comic about a post zombie apocalypse world made by an awesome married couple named James (writer), and June (writer/artist) Maillet who did this comic to help them get closer together (SO CUTE!). I know what you’re thinking with all the post zombie apocalypse movies, but you’d be wrong if you think you know how this comic is set up.

I love the writing for this comic which I only stumbled upon cause they advertised on my own site, (shallow reason to find a comic but effective in my lazy method of finding a comic to read). TOGM is not your average post apocalyptic zombie story. It is about a story of a Man who is the last human on earth. He has no clue why or how he ended up in a trash can outside of a clinic but when he walks in he finds it infested with zombies. Zombies that say hi, and don’t try biting his head open. Confusing I know, but in this story there are ‘enlightened’ zombies. Hot enlightened zombies. I can not even begin to explain how entertaining it is to watch as he struggles to be the last remaining human in a world where brains are so rare that the zombies have made a brain substitute to remain alive. Along the way he befriends a few enlightened zombies, although only one knows he is in fact a human, and finds a pretty awesome secret lair. I can’t wait to see where this comic goes. It’s funny and filled with a few moments of action. Bringing me much joy now that I’ve found it.

Now lets talk art. TOGM is not an artistic masterpiece but I’m OK with that. Its art is great as is. Simplistic yet beautiful. It’s all I could ask from a comic that has more comedy in it than action. Not to mention the wonderful coloring is rich but not over bearing. It’s a perfect mix for the writing.

If you guys haven’t figured it out I am very excited by TOGM. I hope this couple continues this story and get even better at it. You guys can even help with that by checking out their site and reading The Other Grey Meat. Go check em out right now and every Monday and Thursday that they update!

This is Darren with a second review of a comic he enjoyed. Tune in next time Fashionable Freaks. I have more comics to go find and review

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: The Other Grey Meat

  1. Matthew says:

    TOGM is pretty awesome 😀

  2. Matthew says:

    Darn it, put the wrong email address = wrong gravatar.

    😡

    But yeah, it’s awesome.

  3. Magravan says:

    Thank you very much for your review! A few of our readers got pretty upset after June (the artist) said something like “Sorry for the crappy art”, as though in response to your review… Despite the fact that we didn’t notice the review until after she’d posted her author’s note.

    So, sorry if you happen to see any negative reaction to your review, and I think I mostly cleared it up by the end 😀

    • scribblingdm says:

      honestly I like the art, I wasn’t trashing it, and we allow anyones comments that are not blatant flaming attempts. If it’s angry and they want to make a point and we see it we will allow it. Again thank you for TOGM. It is a good comic and all of us here are happy to see where it goes.

Leave a comment